‘Winter’s Bone’ Heats Up Sundance

Debra Granik’s Ozark drama Winter’s Bone, while giving The Burning Plain star Jennifer Lawrence a career role, received the Sundance Film Festival’s Grand Jury Prize for the US Dramatic category.

Her 2004 debut film Down to the Bone took home top directing honors at Sundance that year and put Up in the Air star Vera Farmiga on the map, and looks to do the same with its female lead in Lawrence.

The film also bagged screenplay wins for Granik and co-writer Anne Rosselini and with last year’s big winner Precious lighting up the awards and Oscar circuit this year, it won’t be a surprise to see this film in contention at the end of the year.

Winter’s Bone is set in the enigmatic backdrop of the Ozark Moutains where Lawrence’s character, Ree Dolly, is in search of her missing father whose debts may cause them to lose their home.

Full list of winners after the cut…

Grand Jury Prize (U.S. Dramatic): “Winter’s Bone”
Grand Jury Prize (U.S. Documentary): “Restrepo”
World Cinema Jury Prize (Dramatic): “Animal Kingdom”
World Cinema Jury Prize (Documentary): “The Red Chapel”
Audience Award (Dramatic): “happythankyoumoreplease”
Audience Award (Documentary): “Waiting for Superman”
World Cinema Audience Award (Dramatic): “Undertow”
World Cinema Audience Award (Documentary): “Wasteland”
Directing Award (Dramatic): Eric Mendelsohn, “3 Backyards”
Directing Award (Documentary): Leon Gast, “Smash His Camera”
World Cinema Directing Award (Dramatic): Juan Carlos Valdivia, “Southern District”
World Cinema Directing Award (Documentary): Christian Frei, “Space Tourists”
Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Debra Granik and Anne Rosselini, “Winter’s Bone”
World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Juan Carlos Valdivia, “Southern District”
Special Jury Prize (Dramatic): “Sympathy for Delicious”
Special Jury Prize (Documentary): “Gasland”
World Cinema Special Jury Prize (Dramatic): Tatiana Maslany, for her performance in “Grown-Up Movie Star”
World Cinema Special Jury Prize (Documentary): “Enemies of the People”
Cinematography Award (Dramatic): Zak Mulligan, “Obselidia”
Cinematography Award (Documentary): Kirsten Johnson and Laura Poitras, “The Oath”
World Cinema Cinematography Award (Dramatic): Mariano Cohn and Gastón Duprat, “The Man Next Door”
World Cinema Cinematography Award (Documentary): Kate McCullough and Michael Lavelle, “His & Hers”
Documentary Editing Award: Penelope Falk, “Joan Rivers—A Piece Of Work”
World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: Joëlle Alexis, “A Film Unfinished”
Alfred P. Sloan Prize: “Obselidia”
NEXT Award: “Homewrecker”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: