Writers Guild Nominees Announced

The Writers Guild of America has released their list of nominees for the year 2009 but has disqualified several of the most prominent awards contenders particularly Inglourious Basterds, District 9, Up, Fantastic Mr. Fox and An Education for various reasons.

There is reason to rejoice for supporters of Avatar however, having managed to garner a nomination in a field where most say is its weakest point. Star Trek is also gaining some substantial momentum heading into the Oscar nominations this January.

Full list of nominees after the cut…

Adapted Screenplay
Crazy Heart” (Scott Cooper)
Julie & Julia” (Nora Ephron)
Precious” (Geoffrey Fletcher)
Star Trek” (Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci)
Up in the Air” (Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner)

Original Screenplay
(500) Days of Summer” (Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber)
Avatar” (James Cameron)
The Hangover” (Jon Lucas, Scott Moore)
The Hurt Locker” (Mark Boal)
A Serious Man” (Ethan Coen, Joel Coen)

Against the Tide” (Richard Trank)
Capitalism: A Love Story” (Michael Moore)
The Cove” (Mark Monroe)
Earth Days” (Robert Stone)
Good Hair” (Lance Crouther, Chris Rock, Chuck Sklar, Jeff Stilson)
Soundtrack for a Revolution” (Bill Guttentag, Dan Sturman)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: